50 Shades of Crap

I know, everyone is talking, blogging, and writing about this piece of crap book. I figured I should jump on the bandwagon. Better late than never.

If you haven’t read it, you should – but just the first page. The writing is so bad, in my humble opinion, that it is pretty unreadable. You will laugh so hard that you won’t be able to hold your Kindle straight enough to keep reading anyway.

My mom told me that she put this book on her queue at the library. I guess I must have looked at her strangely, because she got all defensive. “What?? Everyone else is reading it and talking about it!”

So I did what any loving daughter would do. I went and got my Kindle, where, sadly, I do have the first book…and maybe even the second one too…and I gave it to her. “Start reading,” I said.

I came back a few minutes later. She had this pained look on her face. She was still reading though. She asked me if she could keep it for a while. Yikes.

She came and gave me my Kindle back soon after. “You’re right,” she said, “The writing is awful.” She proceeded to read me some choice lines from the first chapter that she highlighted because they were so bad. I think one was something like, “Gosh, my hair was just so frizzy. Why did that always happen?”

Anyway, I just found this article. I find it disturbing on many levels, not least of which that anyone would think you can learn anything from this book besides how to put one over on the idiotic American public (specifically women, sadly…how embarrassing…and I include myself in that category).

http://www.getfrank.co.nz/dating-romance-relationships/sex/what-can-you-learn-from-50-shades-of-grey

Ugh. Get some taste, people! No pun intended.

~ by cynicaldater on June 14, 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
