Déjà vu…all over again

I know, that’s redundant.

But it’s one way I can make my point.

I have been watching my normal tv shows this week, trying to get caught up with everything I have recorded. And the weirdest thing keeps happening. I keep watching a show, then I’ll watch another one…and the same actor is on both shows (in a different role, obviously). It’s really uncanny. Let me give you some examples:

1. I was watching Season 1 of Sex and the City, which my cable company graciously lets me watch whenever I want (on demand) for free. So cool. So anyway, I was watching one of the episodes (The Turtle and the Hare), and one of the actors looked familiar. I couldn’t remember why. And then, right after that, I watched last week’s episode of Fringe, and I realized: it was the same actor playing Newton (the man from the other side). Weird, especially since Season 1 of SATC was filmed in like 1998…what are the odds?! Here’s the actor I’m talking about, in case you care:

Okay, next déjà vu television moment:

2. Last night I was watching Glee (yes, I know it was on the night before. I happen to be one of those people who can wait for a few hours before watching the newest episode of a show. Call me crazy). And the guy playing Kurt’s dad looked familiar. And then I watched Parenthood, and guess what? Same actor! Different role! He was playing some guy who Sarah knew from high school. Here’s that actor, too, in case you care about him:

He’s the one on the right, the one who is not Christian Slater. I see now that he’s been on many shows before, which is great and all. But it was pretty weird that he was in one show I watched, and then in the very next one I watched too. Seems to be happening more and more…and it’s not like when you watch a show, and you’re like, oh, that’s the actor from Lost, and now he’s on Vampire Diaries. It’s like right after I watch one show, I see the same actor on the next show I watch. So strange. Or at least it seems strange to me. Kinda.

And there’s a third example, too, but I can’t remember it right now. I’m going to have to think about it, and if I remember, I’ll add it in here.

What does this have to do with dating, or being cynical? Nothing, really. I’m sure I could try to make some lofty connections, like that all men start to look the same after awhile…or some crap like that. But it’s not really true, so I won’t push it.

Since I’m here, I might as well share something else with you all. It’s something that made me laugh for about five minutes when I first heard/saw it. It took place during this week’s episode of Glee, and it was damn funny. It was said by Kristin Chenoweth’s character, April. Here she is:

She said it to Will. I really wish someone had said this to me when I was getting divorced. It would have made my year. It went a little something like this:

Will: I’m getting a divorce.

April: Divorce!!! So you’re free to date??? And by date, I mean sleep with people. And by sleep with people, I mean have sex with people. Kidding. Not really…tell you what. I’m going to go get myself a bikini wax, and I’m going to see you tomorrow.

That is hilarious. I would have loved to hear all of that, except maybe the bikini wax part. I love the way she explains what “date” and “sleep with people” mean. If only everyone were so obvious and honest! She’s like: here’s what I want from you, and I’m gonna put it all on the table, and then you can do what you want with it. And his reaction is so funny, he’s like stunned…what a prude.

Well, that’s all I’ve got for now. See ya.

~ by cynicaldater on April 29, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
